conch

Snail mail blows, but give the Indians credit; they sure knew how to launch a conch. The 3rd pic depicts a Chasqui; an Incan pony express without the pony or the express. Hindu type Indians didn’t blow conch for their mail, but they do blow conchs religiously. My next post has more about conch blowing; this one relates more to horny mailmen.

Thomas Pynchon uses the post horn in, The Crying of Lot 49; a mailman’s tale turned into a paranoid beatnik tale about high tech. Pynchon interests me and I do relate in some ways, but I do have problems with him. I write this blog to help clarify my novel, but I hope people can get some enjoyment without understanding everything. I’m not sure if Pynchon cares. I try to learn from Pynchon and James Joyce because they made ambitious novels; I wrote one, too. Pynchon writes about systems The mail is a system and Pynchon’s horn represents a simple system. Look at a French horn and you will see a much more complex system with valves changing resonance values. Pynchon adds a mute to his horn; I think it represents defeating the system. For every action there is a reaction; for every cause there is a rebel.

(Center Image) Francis Barraud’s original painting of Nipper looking into an Edison Bell cylinder phonograph. I put it in for cuteness and because it steps up from horns; which, stepped from the conch.

In Florida, we had the Barefoot Mailman. I note this because this blog also acts an outline for my final edit. I don’t think I have the barefoot mailman, but I think an easy allusion will get added.

