hqdefault-tile

Savatage and their larger alter ego, the Trans-Siberian Orchestra (TSO), perform rock operas. I mentioned in my last post that the term, “Cabaret,” comes from the the mythical figures called the Cabeiri. A mystery cult formed around the Cabeiri and I can help, but suspect the rites held a musical performance in it’s ritual. Orpheus is another mystery cult member and he is a mythical musician. I’m surprised no one has made mystery cult rock opera, but I’m also surprised it took so long for Richard Wagner‘s opera Der Ring Des Nibelungen to get rocked (Andy DiGelsomina has done part of the adaption in Lyraka Volume 1). Even Hans Makart’s painting (lower left) which is based on Wagner’s opera looks like a rock album cover.

I allude to Savatage and the Trans-Siberian Orchestra in my book due to the Tarpon Springs origin. I allude to Wager’s opera for other reasons.

Top Left pic: Hall of the Mountain King album cover

Top right pic: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Trans-Siberian-Orchestra-Live-06.jpg

Bottom Left pic: commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Makart_hans_ring_des_nibelungen.jpg

Bottom right pic was altered by me but comes from:

commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:B%C3%BChnenbildentwurf_Siegfried.JPG

 

