99686-h

Comic books often weave with mythology. Former comic book author Neil Gaiman did it best, then he did the same thing with novels. Gaiman’s novel, Anansi Boys, tells a tale about the sons of Anansi, the spider trickster of African mythology. Vixen, from DC Comics, also has an Anansi link; she gets her powers from this trickster god. The Black Athena version, of the Greek goddess, weaves well with this Anansi lore. Athena and Anansi share spiders and weaving, in their profiles.

I link both, Anansi and Athena, to one character in my book. I’m not very familiar with Vixen but I am a comic book fan, so I’m sure I will add an allusion to this superhero. Some Black female writers should try to enter the comic book game because the notable black super-heroines dwindle fast, after Storm from the X-Men. Vixen probably ranks number two. My next post may make clear, how few there are. Gaiman set part of the Anansi story in Florida, so I’m in the web.

Many call Martin Bernal’s, Black Athena, pseudo-history; I see a possible link. Greek myths came over with the Phoenicians, who may not have been Black, but they surely had relations. One slave girl turned king’s favorite may have begun the myth. Egyptians and Phoenicians considered themselves a different race than Black West Africans, but they did have something called harems. Who knows?

Middle image (Wikipedia) Vixen from Justice League Of America vol. 2 #4, artist J. G. Jones.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
