autocrit-horz

I show two sample reports from Autocrit, which, I used to analyze about half my first chapter. I use first-person point of view for my narrative and every perspective has its own nuances. Autocrit flags sensory terms, but the first-person perspective needs such terms. Creative fiction also differs from college term paper style. My overuse of, “have” and “it” may need addressing, but small one syllable words read quick and become close to invisible. My one “generic description” flag comes due to an allusion I use, so it stays. If Autocrit performed different checks for different writing styles, I might find it more useful. Such tools can help identify where you get extra lazy, like many of my blog posts. I rarely edit these things. They go as they go.

Enhanced by Zemanta
