t3

I play with lingo and stereotypes for  various reasons. Cultures may share roots, but they all take different paths. Dialects, from past centuries, spread until they became new languages. Radio and TV has stolen many accents and lingo. This loss is a linguistic shame. I try to use the word, “ain’t” just to keep it alive. Idiots think “ain’t,” ain’t even a word. People say it and write, so it is obviously a word.

I used this sample from Peter Mathiessen’s Far Tortuga on my white space post, but it interests me in many ways. I love symbols, adding an illustration, like in the above, interests me. Mathiessen skips the identification of speakers and I do much the same thing. Mathiessen may work as a style guide. So much to learn, finding the right people to lean from is another job to do.

