Codex_Borgia_page_56-horz

Sometimes I scare myself. The Feathered Serpent  from Aztec lore fits in as a wind god. Maybe I knew this but didn’t realize it until I wanted to make a wind rose post. Portugal’s The Monument to the Discoveries comes from wind rose design. Mayans in Peru also had a “Feathered Serpent” deity but the image on the left has an abstract mandala pattern.

Many mandalas use wind rose position to signify relationships, I’s curious as to whether the North-South symbols denote similarities between Mictlantecuhtli (left) and Quetzalcoatl (right). The death god’s symbols fall on the west side. Symbols of the breath of life fall on the Feathered Serpent side. The sun rises in the east and sets in the west, so I’m not surprised we see similar patterns all over the world. Wind direction also plays a role in many mythologies.

I had a Matrix moment when I noticed the Feathered Serpent also acted as wind god. When I decided to make the letter my central symbol on what I call my “focus map.” Primary focal elements in my novel need to stand out as they orbit around the central concept. Many things fall in place without my intention and sometimes I wonder if I fell down the rabbit hole.

I made a rough draft of my new map, but I may break it down. If no one else owns this quote, I shall make it mine – Clarifying to others brings clarity to the person who clarifies.

Enhanced by Zemanta
