Jacopo ligozzi,_Sacrifice of Isaac-Divine Narc

I heard Dennis Lehane use the Abraham sacrificing Isaac story as an example of an unreliable narrator, in a writing seminar. I saw his point, but I’ve been mulling the story for other reasons. When I changed the foundation of my chapter, in rewrite; I felt guilt when I put heroic people into a chapter about narcissism, but the chapter also deals with sacrifice. Many have a narcissistic bond with their child and you can frame the child as an extension of the parent. Was Abraham asked to sacrifice the narcissist? If life is but a test, this tale take may give lesson to those obsessed with genetic drop of themselves.

My chapter’s foundation comes from Sor Juana’s, “Loa to Divine Narcissus.” and I see something solid to build upon. This post shows one thing I needed to resolve in my mind. My imagery problem still needs better answer, but one thing at a time.

If I designed a cover for Sor Juana’s work I might pair the two paintings above.

Sacrifice of Isaac by Jacopo ligozzi (left)

Salvador Dalí’s — Metamorphosis of Narcissus (right).

Enhanced by Zemanta
