Page_211_illustration_in_Old_Deccan_Days

I decided the only way to get my present chapter, in rewrite, done is to make an illustration to help me keep my thoughts in order. No, the above illustration is not my work. I considered adding the tower of Babel to my image, but I introduce the prospect of crowding or diminishment of more important images. The illustration needs to help with me with my traveling sequence. My characters, in this chapter, travel through an eccentric man’s estate. The pacing and the amount of description has proved problematic.

The image manipulation apps, we have today, make me half way competent. I am happy with parts of my work. I did not use my image in this post because it may show too much of my hand. All the legal elements often bug me too. When I started writing this book, I never thought about being a lawyer or an artist. I knew visuals play a part in marketing—the cover matters.

The above image is just one I liked and would fit well in my book. It comes from Wikimedia and here are the credits

illustration from a book of fairy tales of India.
Date    1898
Source    Title: Old Deccan days; or, Hindu fairy legends current in Southern India; collected from oral tradition (1898) 3rd ed. London, Murray
Scan: copy held by University of Toronto, obtained from IA.org: olddeccandaysorh00freruoft
Modifications: Conversion to PNG, greyscale, black and white point adjustment to 3%/51%
Author    Catherine Frances Frere (d. 1921), in a book by Mary Eliza Isabella Frere (1845–1911)

