highwaytohell1

Samuel Johnson coined the term, “Hell is paved with good intentions.” Would the reverse, be true? I doubt it. Albert Camus pairs ignorance with good intentions in this quote, from The Plague:

“The evil that is in the world comes out of ignorance, and good intentions may do as much harm as malevolence, if they lack understanding. One the whole, men are more good than bad; that, however, isn’t the real point. But they are more or less ignorant, and it is this that we call vice or virtue; the most incorrigible vice being that of an ignorance that fancies it knows everything and therefore claims for itself the right to kill.”

Purgatory seems more apt than hell, for the ignorant with good intent. Telemarketers, politicians, and all those who place marketing above social needs are better candidates for the Dante’s form of damnation.

I have a different style than Camus, but we seem very similar in philosophy. Ignorance teamed with good intent plays a major role in this present chapter, in rewrite. I’m trying to figure out how best to highlight this issue. I don’t see ignorance as evil unless you pair it with arrogance. Satan’s association with pride is another issue in this chapter. The trivia and the humor I use in my novel hurts my gravitas when making such points. I may just settle for a pratfall to illustrate the proverb, Pride comes before the fall

My post’s title relates to  the AC/DC songs. Dirty Deeds  Done Dirt Cheap and Highway t.o Hell. Brian Johnson has a home on Bird Key, so I have a regional reason to allude to the group. We have a state park called Tate’s Hell and a place called Hell’s Gate. People have always seen heaven and hell in Florida.

