rough draft

“Biting my truant pen, beating myself for spite:
“Fool!” said my muse to me, “look in thy heart, and write.”
Philip Sidney, Astrophel and Stella

I think I have all the pieces to put words on paper this time. Now, I just need the courage to try again. It really isn’t surprising that many writers reach for liquid courage. Caring hurts and writing demands you care.

My previous attempts at this chapter went into the trash can. Sometimes things flow; other times you run into plot-hole after plot-hole. I have written a few scraps and some is written in my mind. This is the first time that I have used anything close to an outline People may see fluff in my writing, but I hide a lot of complexity in simple prose.

I have a “Research, Rattle, and Roll technique” but the rolling onto paper part comes too infrequently. I enjoy research and the rattling inside my head comes naturally. I pray some rolling happens this weekend. My muses’ voice keeps echoing Fool! Fool! Fool!

