TrophicWeb

Thomas Pynchon uses two thermodynamics principles in his novel,The Crying of Lot 49: Entropy and Maxwell’s Demon.

My theme of balance in this present chapter has me considering something similar to Pynchon’s entropy concept. I use two keystone species of Florida, in my novel: the gopher tortoise and the alligator. A keystone species act as foundation to a region’s ecology cycle. The ecology cycle is a type of feedback loop which provides stability to a system. You see feedback loops in electronic, mechanical, management, and other systems. I’m not sure how well I can develop this principle as I edit, but I will give it consideration because I have already introduced elements.

Wikimedia Image Description: A trophic pyramid (a) and ecological food-web (b).
Date: 31 May 2011
Source: Own work
Author: Thompsma

