Hurricanes

I’m sorry guys, but this alumni list does little to make me think Hurricanes. The Gators had Southern Rock and Southern Rock says Gator Football. Ben Folds can rock the suburbs; Enrique Iglesias might work for football, as in soccer, but American Football – not so much.

The Dixie Dregs, sort of fit, but I suspect only guitarists and serious music buffs know about them. I thought about 2 Live Crew, but their songs revolve more around sex than football. Grace Slick brings a White Rabbit, but still not Hurricane.

Gloria Estefan’s rhythm may get you, but can her Sound Machine rev up a defensive end to get after a quarterback – I’m less than sure.

I’m just trying create a rowdy atmosphere for a scene in my book using sports fanatics and music groups from Florida colleges. Maybe Gloria Estefan is rowdy drunk. Maybe I will have turn my war chant into a true song. I’m perplexed.

