RaptureRiders1

Mark Vidler (Go Home Productions) had the brilliant idea of mashing up two songs by Blondie and The Doors. Rapture Riders is a mix of Blondie’s, Rapture and Riders on the Storm, by The Doors. The photogenic lead singers of Debbie Harry and Jim Morrison were born in Florida. They also tended to overshadow their noteworthy bands.

Debbie Harry wrote some lyrics and sang lead, but did not do the music, she was not Blondie. The other band members could not truly be Blondie without Debbie Harry, either. My reason for this post is the Blondie’s placement on the list of breakups and narcissism. You know it hurt some egos with all the focus on the blond singer. Drugs also played a part in the breakup but the indestructible attitude is a narcissistic trait. How many people have to fall, due to drugs, before a lesson is learned?

Imagine trying to handle someone like Jim Morrison, as keyboardist Ray Manzarek, drummer John Densmore and guitarist Robby Krieger had to do. The other members of The Doors had to adjust live onstage to Morrison’s antics and creative inspiration. Morrison’s substance abuse threatened the band’s continuity even before the fatal overdose took away the face of the band. The Doors never had the normal breakup that many bands go through, but the overdose caused an important piece to break away.

Yesterday, I finished the main lyrics of my 3 song experiment but I left off the chorus. I show a partial on my Gator Bait song, still, I hadn’t decided what to do with the chorus. I’m still not positive but I’m leaning toward the lines on the bottom of this post. I’m stretching things by attaching Blondie to the University of Miami because none attended; Debby Harry’s birth is the attachment I use to reconcile my use. The breakup is and the narcissism are my primary reasons. I thought about using Grace Slick, but Jefferson Airplane-Starship survived and still thrived without Slick.

The Doors didn’t have a true breakup but it was a “close enough.” Jim Morrison did attend Florida State, so I did not need to cheat, in that regard. I’m not being over judgmental with the Me My Mine, which comes from the title of a Beatles song, but the ego that drives success can also cause destruction. So here is my theoretical chorus:

Me My Mine
Sing The Eagles
Just like the Beatles
Me My Mine.

Me My Mine
Sing The Doors

Me My Mine
Sing The Eagles
Just like the Beatles
Me My Mine.

Me My Mine
Sings, Blondie

Me My Mine
Sing The Eagles
Just like the Beatles
Me My Mine.

