imoc14_8 Old and New World mythologies share many traits. Names change with region and era, but the same old symbols keep showing up. I show the Parabiago plate, once again, which best  depicts the Greek and Roman mythologies – but now I want to apply it to Native American mythology in the Southeast. Robert Graves coined the term Triple Goddess; which is what you see here highlighted in green. Graves labeled the three after the three stages of life: the Maiden, the Mother, and the Crone (Sorry, about the Crone – don’t shoot the messenger).

Sometimes mythologies separate the aspects into separate deities and sometimes they merge into one or even two goddesses. I see Persephone as both the earthly Maiden and the Crone (when she descends to the underworld). Demeter remains the earthbound mother. I prefer to see the Maiden (on the left) as Flora of Roman mythology and her lover is the West Wind (the Greek, Zephyrus or the Roman, Favonius). In the Southern Death Cult, Native Americans have the Corn Mother (the nature deity also known as the Old Woman Who Never Dies). Nokomis is such a spirit – you see her in Ojibwe traditional stories and in The Song of Hiawatha by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. Nokomis shares her lover with Flora – the Ojibwa call the West-Wind, Mudjekeewis and he fathered Hiawatha.

So what about the Little People? I highlighted the Karpoi (the Fruits work for Gaia) in red and the Seminoles, and others descended from the Southern Death Cult called dwarves – the Fastachee or the “Little Givers.” Matches those guys on the Parabiago plate. Mother nature deities work for the local Mother Nature, in many culture. Sometimes they work for mineral and craftsman gods, as well. Hephaestus, Ptah of Egypt, and good old Santa Claus have their own little guys to do the work. More on the corn goddesses tomorrow. I switched from Tricksters to Fertility deities, in my novel – so I’m backpedaling to make some changes. I hope to allude to Southern Death Cult deities and Nokomis, in my final draft. One further note, Nokomis, Florida is nearby Ringling’s winter home and where many Little People lived. Coincidence – I think not.

