Amalie_Materna_as_Brünhilde_1876_-_IL1

Brünnhilde is the full figured soprano that sings at the end of Richard Wagner‘s opera cycle Der Ring des Nibelungen. Brünnhilde is a valkyrie and represents death. The fate goddess, known as the Dises, are related deities (which is interesting for my purpose). The colloquialism. “It ain’t over till (or until) the fat lady sings,” apparently came to existence during a college basketball game, just before the 1976 March Madness began.

My previous chapter invokes the “fat lady” colloquialism and I am considering a Brünnhilde role for this chapter. Unfortunately, I’m lacking a regional link. I sure could use a famous overweight Florida opera singer or even rock opera. Florida State has a highly regarded opera program; which, may be of use for my purpose. “This is the end, as FSU’s most famous alumnus might say.

Image from Wikipedia : Amalie Materna as thevalkyrie Brünnhilde (1876)

