Mexican_execution,_1914-horz

White collar crime reverberates throughout society and indirectly create crimes at lower levels, What if we held a vote each year to execute the most damaging White Collar criminal, in the prison system? I vote politicians in as candidates. University leaders and many others could make the list, also. My last scene, I finished writing, involved failing institutions. When leaders not only fail, but commit crimes for profit, it hurts society.

We might also apply a lottery, to select between the top three vote getters and even offer a chance for reprieve. I guess I want some Schadenfreude after reading about falsified studies and corrupt politicians. My idea brought to mind Shirley Jackson’s. short story, The Lottery. If you have capital punishment and most of these come from people on the disadvantaged end of society; a token from the advantaged class may be fitting. Maybe the rich need a wake up call.

