crow's nest Pearson Scott Foresman-horz

in the epic of Gilgamesh, Utnapishtim sent out three birds to find land after the great flood. First, he sent out a dove, then a swallow, and lastly – a raven, the cousin to crow. The story says the raven never came back. The Sirens in mythology have wings, even though most associate them with mermaids. What if the raven that never came back spawned the Sirens? Ravens and crows don’t have sweet voices; but in mythology, ravens and crows are shape-shifting tricksters. Can we cast the winged tricksters as the beautiful Sirens?

I attach many allusions to a female character, in  my first chapter, and mermaid and raven allusions lead the list. I call the character Honey, as in the “land of milk and honey.” Noah also sent out a raven after the flood — another search for a land of milk and honey. The Norse used ravens in search for land and Odin’s ravens may derive from this practice.

The Inuit goddess of the sea, Sedna or Sanna, who links to the raven and to sea creatures. I call my character Honey, throughout the book but I may create a truer identity and base it on Sedna (Sanna).
The Japanese have demons called the Tengu, who may have links to the Inuit deity. The Tengu have characteristics which interest me. One Tengu demon is depicted as a raven spirit. The Japanese call the Amanita muscaria mushroom — beni-tengu-take. This mushroom is also called Raven’s Bread.” The Norse, the Hindus, and others hint at throwing magic mushrooms into cauldrons to make magic elixirs. I see common threads but I also see many loose threads.
Bran the Blessed translates to, ”the blessed crow.”  Brân is a giant, so you can call him Big Raven. Native American lore has a character known as Big Raven, and he has tales involving whales.  Brân also has a famous cauldron, does the throw Raven’s bread into it? Look up Kvasir and you will see how Kvasir’s blood is mixed with honey to create the Mead of Poetry, after two dwarves kill Kvasir. Odin steals away the Mead of Poetry; which, parallels the Sanskrit tale about the theft of Soma in the Hindu world.

I’m sure no one follows my logic but these things fit into my novel and the character, I call Honey is an important piece of my puzzle.

Both images come from the Archives of Pearson Scott Foresman donated to the Wikimedia Foundation. The Crow’s Nest seemed an apt image for this topic.

