Pope_Francis_in_March_2013-horz

Catholic Bishops in the Philippines are riled up about Madonna’s visit to an orphanage. Madonna has stirred up her former religion before. Papa Don’t Preach was directed at Pope John Paul. I wrote a Tits For a Cause post and that is what I believe. If Madonna cheered up some kids; let her be. Madonna’s antics reminded me of some things I read about Bettie Page.

Bettie Page lived in a Protestant orphanage and she later worked for Billy Graham, without a hint of scandal. Page was a Christian with no shame about her use of sexuality. Protestants come in many shapes. Politicians favored Graham but he was not the leader of all Protestants. Graham shows a fist in the picture above, but Catholics hold a tighter fist on sex issues. Read about Pre-Code Hollywood and you will see who caused the cover-up.

Both Madonna and Page lived in Florida, a while. Page interests me more. I use icons of Florida in my writing and my next novel may work partially in Page’s era. One of my fictional characters will intersect with Page and many other figures in the Miami area. Madonna may get some consideration, but no plans for now.

