Russian Royal Midgets

Stalin’s consolidation of power caused this set of circus performers to stay in the US. They retired to Sweetwater, Florida. Even before Ringling, Florida was often the choice location for circus folk. Loss of their translator and lack of language skills left them in relative isolation.

I don’t believe they have any descendants, but I will probably be careful about any reference to them, in my novel. They would make a great addition to my fiction secret society of circus folk, but I may use a fictional benefactor as a linchpin.

For more on the Royal Russian Midgets and the source of the picture: http://vivafl500.org/cities/sweetwater-2/

Royal Russian Midgets was the name they toured under, some Little People don’t care for the name midget, others don’t care.

