The gates of the Neptune Memorial Reef off the coast of Key Biscayne Florida Ekkman2-19-2010

Many Sideshow people have chosen have chosen cremation rather than conventional burial. I suspect they just don’t want to be looked at anymore. Julia Pastrana has a picture that I don’t want to post because I’m not sure if it is her embalmed remains and I truly hope she rests in peace. Writing about the Freak culture often makes me feel bad, but freaks fit with my Florida history and trivia theme. But back to the original point–many may prefer a secret cemetery.

The picture above shows the gates of the Neptune Memorial Reef (off the coast of Key Biscayne, Florida.) The site isn’t a true secret and doesn’t fit the location that I have in mind, but it symbolizes what I have in mind. Many circus people have been buried at Showmen’s Rest sites; in which, Florida has two, but a fictional secret cemetery will work better for my purpose.

I’ve been annoyed by authors who screw with geography, but when you actually try to write a book—you learn why they do. I prefer having a cemetery in Gibsonton and an east Tampa location may have worked, but Tampa’s Showmen’s Rest was too far west. My main character will probably take note of something there, but I won’t know until I get my head back.

I adjusted the contrast, but the image comes from Wikipedia with credits below

The gates of the Neptune Memorial Reef off the coast of Key Biscayne Florida

Elkman 2-19-2010

