voodoo-horz

Astrology became astronomy and alchemy became chemistry. I suspect we have more quackery today than we did in the past. When I developed my fictional festival devoted to hoodoo; I did it for many reasons, but one involved my fictional drug.

My fictional cult wants to improve their drug, so they use the hoodoo festival to explore the herbs and roots used in African based rootwork. Of course, they learned more in the early days, but they continue the tradition. The festival also serves as a regional gathering, but I haven’t fully developed that part because it means making more characters. I will probably associate the festival with one or more of my factions.

African witchcraft is also divided into factions; Juju is not hoodoo or voodoo (Vodun), but all are invited to the festival. Royal pythons represent the mother goddess of Juju; while, Vodun has a wider variety of fetish objects and Legba’s phallus reigns supreme.

How will I represent the factions? I’m still working on it, but I have a few ideas. Anansi is an African spider god, so my faction of weavers will attend. Legba is a crossroads and liminal deityRobert Johnson’s guitar god, so I may sue a guitar neck as a symbol. snake-skin will represent my last known faction.

Both images come from Wikimedia with the following credits:

Left image Description: voodoo scenes from Haiti
Source Own work
Author Fritz Rudolf Loewa

Right image Description: Nude female voodoo doll in kneeling position, bound and pierced with thirteen pins. Found in a terracotta vase with a lead tablet bearing a binding spell (katadesmos).

Date: 4th century AD — Medium: clay and bronze —  (Inventory)Louvre Museum

This work is part of the collections of the Louvre (Department of Greek, Etruscan, and Roman Antiquities).
Accession number E 27145b Info non-talk.svg
Object history discovered (Egypt)
Credit line 1911: purchased
References
Musée du Louvre, Atlas database: entry 28021
Pierre du Bourguet, Revue du Louvre 25 (1975), p.255-257
Sophie Kambitsis, BIFAO 76 (1976), p.213-223

Date 2014 Photographer Marie-Lan Nguyen

Attribution (required by the license) © Marie-Lan Nguyen / Wikimedia Commons / CC-BY 2.5

