The Tupelo Honey Festival comes up in May and it is a real festival, unlike my HooDat festival honoring Zora Neale Hurston. My fictional cult will attend the 1997 festival; which coincides with Ulee’s Gold release. The movie title partially alludes to the gold in Tupelo Honey. One faction of my fictional cult uses the honeycomb as a symbol and my Florida theme makes the festival a worthwhile visit.

Victor Nuñez wrote and directed the movie and I suspect Ulysses by James Joyce provided some inspiration. Both Nuñez and Joyce borrow from Homer’s Odyssey. I draw a few parallels myself and the festival will add more. Pageant contestants are likely and I will probably add older age groups.

Peter Fonda plays a Vietnam Veteran trying to run his bee business while dealing with blackmailing drug dealers and bringing back together his family.

