Retrato_de_Sor_Juana_Inés_de_la_Cruz_(Miguel_Cabrera)

My novel uses a genetic memory drug, but that gives me trouble when I want to give a child to a notorious lesbian or a famous nun. Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz is famous and useful to me, but I doubt she passed along her DNA. I considered going with a fictional rape and a resulting child, but a younger sibling or a spiritual child may work.

I didn’t consider it important to make a genetic link, in my original novel, because I accepted that someone familiar to her work could account for her in a DNA dream. It seems more important to have a closer link to her, in this novel.

A younger sibling who worshipped her may be the way I go. Making a fictional sister provides the closest direct connection, but a spiritual sister who marries a fictional brother can offer other advantages. If I write the character in generic terms, I may develop a better of what will work best.

Wikimedia credits

Artist: Miguel Cabrera (1695–1768) Link back to Creator infobox template wikidata:Q527206
Title    Portrait of Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz (1648-1695)
Date    circa 1750
Medium    oil on canvas
Current location: Chapultepec Castle (National Museum of History) Link back to Institution infobox template
Source/Photographer    http://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/

