My main character will visit a woman in a mental hospital and the scene needs coherence and incoherence, at the same time. When a rambler acts as your clue giver—you need to give that ramble a specific meaning. A long ramble wastes your reader’s time, so you’ll need short quips.

I’ve been stuck for over a week because the patient needs to ramble about the unidentified flower of Xochipilli and I need a supposedly fake connection to a real flower. Unfortunately, I don’t have a psychoactive flower to use. My novel considers the flower as an ingredient to a recipe and the Aztecs may have done the same, so the flower can play another role in the recipe and let another play the psychoactive role.

My main character will come prepared to deal with rambles into Aztec mythology and she’ll probably carry a book. I’m using August of 1997 as the timeframe and I needed to examine the technology, at that era. The first smartphone was made in 1994, but had limited use and few had access. Personal digital assistants (PDA’s) started showing up in 1996, but a book would have still been the best source for information in 1997. She may not be able to carry such a large book, for the visit, but I’ll take some literary license.

Paradoxes make great rambles and I began with one. Several flowers will be mentioned due to the patients’ specialty and one will be of particular interest. One line or more will probably come from a poem because poems can often be cryptic. I’m rambling, now, because my puzzle isn’t complete.

