Mithradates the Great (Megas) and Eupator Dionysius-horz

The delivery system makes rhododendron poisoning my weapon of choice. It’s not perfect, but doable. I wouldn’t advise anyone to use rhododendrons for lethal or recreational purpose because you can do better, but you are still capable of using rhododendrons for these purposes. Delivering the poison by use of honey is the reason I’ve made this chose.

You need a concentrate to reliably kill someone, so you need laboratory enhancement or bees dedicated to a particular variety of rhododendron. My cultists are botany and bee experts, so I have faith they can handle the job. It’s slow acting enough for my purpose, but the use of honey is my primary draw.

Azaleas fall under the Rhododendron genus and the Florida Panhandle has a native azalea, so it fits my regional theme. Palatka also holds an azalea festival, but I’m not sure if I will feature it in the novel’ now, I have a reason to do so.

I show King Mithridates of Pontus and he used the poison as a weapon of warfare; the call him the King of Poisons. His otter epitaph, Eupator Dionysius, fits my fertility cult them, so I may consider making use of him in some way. Both image came from Wikipedia and have the credits below:

Artist – Unknown

Description English: Portrait of the king of Pontus Mithridates VI as Heracles. Marble, Roman imperial period (1st century).

Current location

(Inventory)Louvre Museum

Antiquités grecques, room 17: d’art grec classique et hellénistique. Sully, ground floor.
This work is part of the collections of the Louvre (Department of Greek, Etruscan, and Roman Antiquities).

Accession number Ma 2321

Credit line In the Louvre collections since 1860

References Musée du Louvre, Atlas database: entry 945

Source/Photographer Eric Gaba (User:Sting), July 2005.

Other versions derivative work: Mithridates VI Louvre white background.jpg

***

Description Flame Azalea, Rhododendron calendulaceum offset color reproduction of painting

Source Southern Wild Flowers and Trees

Author Alice Lounsberry (author, 1872-1949), Ellis Rowan (artist, 1847 – 1922), see English Wikipedia article  Date 1901

Public domain due to date of death of artist, also published in United States pre-1923.

