c017373a

Spanish moss is neither Spanish nor moss, but it has long been associated the gray beards of the conquistadors and some ghost legends have taken hold. My upcoming séance isn’t used to summon the standard form of a ghost, because I write about genetically spawned ghosts. You must admit, Spanish moss appears naturally haunted.

Genes are funny. I probably grew a better mustache, at fifteen , than my brother would ever manage to grow. I got more of the Spanish genes and he got the Native American. I’m not a gorilla, but chest hair was never difficult for me to grow; my brother may have a few sporadic hairs. The hairless American male seems more, in style—I’m the relic. I fave Conquistador blood, but I went for a fictional ancestry for the scene that I’m writing

I didn’t see any free nighttime pictures on a quick google search, so I quickly altered a picture from Florida Memory. I didn’t feel like camping, so I could make my own and my most convenient park closes at near sundown.

Barron, Charles. A live oak covered with Spanish moss at the Everglades Tropical Nursery – Tampa, Florida. 1953. Black & white photoprint. State Archives of Florida, Florida Memory. Accessed 12 Sep. 2016.<https://www.floridamemory.com/items/show/71330&gt;.

