My dwarf begins as a brainy, sixteen-year-old girl about ready to begin her first semester in college. The young age bugged me because placing her in a fertility cult means sex, Kids often find themselves in such situations, so I’m mirroring society. I wrote the second book in the series, first, and the events needed to take place earlier, so I adapted and applied a ‘coming of age’ scenario to my story.

Eventually, she will have an alpha-type personality, but the genetic ghosts who possess her will push her to extremes. Being a female dwarf probably makes this homicidal, sexually sadistic character lovable and explains my use of the word ‘noir,’ in my first sentence. Florida’s noir features the darkness hidden inside a sunny disposition.

I’ve already noticed a problem, in the querying process. Low-level screening agents may reject a query before it reaches the agent you researched for possible fit. One query sent to a man with sci-fi and historical interests was rejected almost immediately by a low-level female of unknown interest. Why research an agent when someone totally different makes the judgment call? Interns who call themselves feminists, without knowing the different philosophies of feminism pose a problem and affects my wording about being a satire of feminism.

I gave one female agent a head start, but I sent out more queries yesterday and one was the within the hour rejection described above. Only the first agent queried matters much to me because the others were less likely fits and she’s the only female that I have much hope for. Two male agents are my best fit, but I’ll send some practice queries before I try them. The quick rejection didn’t bug me and now I know I’m going to need a more feminist-friendly tactic.

What I said about my dwarf is true and in many ways, she embodies aspects of a feminist queen. My satire is about the competing factions within feminism and the way they often say polar opposite things. If I show why my dwarf should be respected, I may have better luck.

I can’t show my dwarf’s full journey through life in one book and she’s only a supporting character in the second book. My third book would develop her into who she really is. It may seem impolitically correct to use the term “my dwarf’ but she’s my hero and consider the words “dwarf’ and “hero’ interchangeable. She’s closer to anti-hero in this novel, but if things go as planned she’ll reach true hero status in the third book.

