mestiso_1770

The tribe is extinct, but the bloodline probably still exists. I know my grandfather’s grandmother was a Spanish-Injun (Indians are from India, so I adopt the Injun), but I don’t know her specific tribe.  Two tribes, the Apalachee and the Timucuans had the closest affiliation with the Spanish.. The Seminoles were allies with the Americans or the British, depending on the tie period, so the Seminoles helped wipe out my great-great grandmother’s tribe. Now, they steal-claim to my ancestor’s bones.

We identify tribes by names that the Europeans gave them, not the native name for the tribe and that’s why the natives received the name Indians. My granddad wasn’t very close to his Native American side because his father preferred being the stereotypical half-breed drunk and the last supposed full-breed (could have been half, but my grandfather considered her full-breed), apparently wasn’t very nice. Granddaddy didn’t speech English very well and couldn’t write his own name, so too much about my Native American side was lost. When I said he didn’t speak English very well, I’m not saying he spoke a Native American language, but considering how intelligible he was, he may have had some mangled into his English.

Does my family represent the last of the Timucuans— sort of. Some went to Cuba with the Spanish and that’s sort of why A Cuban may deserve more American rights than people from other foreign lands. My family never left, so I take my last stand. One day I may go on the warpath, so you may should take that ‘last stand’, for the idiom that it has become. Obviously, the last of the Timucuans refers to James Fenimore Cooper’s novel, The Last of the Mohicans. All you would need to do is look at a name on an Alachua County census to know that my ancestor came from a Spanish Injun tribe.

I use a portrait from the Wikipedia page for Mestizos because a Spanish-Injun is commonly referred to as mestizos. Notice the baby is White. Not every White person is just White.

Artist Anonymous
Title Español, Yndia serrana o cafeada. Produce mestiso
Description
Español: De la serie Los cuadros del mestizaje del Virrey Amat
Date circa 1770
Medium oil
Dimensions 100 × 125 cm (39.4 × 49.2 in)
Current location
[show](Inventory)Museo Nacional de Antropología (Madrid) Link back to Institution infobox template wikidata:Q2917041
References ceres.mcu.es
Source/Photographer Photographed at the Maison de l’Amerique Latine

