Amazon does things much different than literary agents, so I’ve sampled their category system. Choosing the appropriate Metadata can help with sales, but some of the choices below, surprise me.

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

    • Literature & Fiction > Genre Fiction > Satire
    • Literature & Fiction > Action & Adventure > Men’s Adventure
    • Humor & Entertainment > Humor > Self-Help & Psychology

Geek Love by Kathleen Dunn

  • Literature & Fiction > Contemporary
  • Literature & Fiction > Literary
  • Literature & Fiction > United States

American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis

  • Literature & Fiction > Genre Fiction > Satire
  • Humor & Entertainment > Humor > Self-Help & Psychology
  • Humor & Entertainment > Humor > Satire

American Gods by Neil Gaiman

  • Literature & Fiction > Mythology & Folk Tales
  • Literature & Fiction > Action & Adventure > Fantasy
  • Science Fiction & Fantasy > Fantasy > Paranormal & Urban

Dan Brown’s various novels

Literature & Fiction > Action & Adventure

Mystery, Thriller & Suspense > Thrillers & Suspense

Mystery, Thriller & Suspense

Literature & Fiction > Genre Fiction > Religious & Inspirational > Mystery

Tom Robbins’s various novels

  • Literature & Fiction > Genre Fiction > Metaphysical & Visionary
  • Literature & Fiction > Genre Fiction > Family Saga
  • Literature & Fiction > Literary

> Mystery, Thriller & Suspense > Thrillers & Suspense > Psychological Thrillers

Cat’s Cradle: A Novel by Kurt Vonnegut

  • Humor & Entertainment > Humor > Cats, Dogs & Animals
  • Literature & Fiction > Genre Fiction > Satire
  • Humor & Entertainment > Humor > Satire

I’m searching for the broadest range because my novel is cross-genre. From what I gather, Amazon has you select two categories, so I need to choose between my obvious three– Literature & Fiction, Humor & Entertainment , and  Mystery, Thriller & Suspense.

The subcategories are limited by the main category and I may make an oddball choice. From the list above I selected what gives me the widest range and my novel can easily fall in such categories. My novel is about a fertility cult, based on the Greco-Roman Mysteries, so mythology is involved. I use an anti-hero and my novel classifies as  picaresque; which, gives it action & adventure qualities. My novel is a humorous satire, so that fits my last selection.

Literature & Fiction > Mythology & Folk Tales

Literature & Fiction > Action & Adventure > Fantasy

Humor & Entertainment > Humor > Satire

***

The others I’ve consider are shown below. Genre Fiction is a broad subcategory, but it doesn’t say much about the novel. The subcategories of Thriller and Satire seem very appropriate, but my selections above give me more mileage. I could even classify my novel as Women’s Fiction, but I won’t. Fight Club and American psycho are listed as Humor & Entertainment > Humor > Self-Help & Psychology and the author and the main character of my novel have issues, so I’m tempted to use it.

Mystery, Thriller & Suspense > Thrillers & Suspense

Literature & Fiction > Genre Fiction > Satire

Humor & Entertainment > Humor > Self-Help & Psychology

Literature & Fiction > Genre Fiction > Metaphysical & Visionary

Mystery, Thriller & Suspense > Thrillers & Suspense > Psychological Thrillers

Literature & Fiction > Literary

Humor & Entertainment > Humor > Satire

Literature & Fiction > Action & Adventure > Men’s Adventure

Literature & Fiction > Contemporary

